Box it better!

Every brand wants a box for their products, but which one? Most of the time, they don’t know for sure. Blogger box, seeding box, shipping box, e-Commerce Box, gift Bbox, set box, folding box, … We explain the differences and what to look out for when making your selection.

Anyone who wants to make an impression with their packaging not only pays attention to the look, but also relies on the experience that a package gives when unpacking it. “Unboxing” can be a real joy, a feeling of excitement, full of anticipation and full of curiosity, or it can cause great disappointment and thus contribute significantly to the image of a brand.

It is worth taking some time and investing to find a functional and attractive solution or ideally have it cosntructed. You want to prevent the box from being unstable and the product being damaged as a result of the material not corresponding to the value of the contents and the products sliding around in the box carelessly. Likewise, an eye for detail and fine-tuning is worth a lot.

 

WHAT GOES WITH YOUR BRAND AND PRODUCT?

Ask yourself the right questions and you will turn your box into a hero product:

  1. Should the packaging (e.g. as an e-commerce box) be sent directly?

If so, we recommend a corrugated shipping box. These can be printed on the inside and outside and, if necessary, an insert can be inserted to fix the products. This saves you additional shipping packaging.

If you want to remain flexible and the products are not too sensitive, a filling material is recommended. Tissue paper strips with your own logo or unprinted cardboard scraps in various shapes are particularly chic. A closure label and a note card should not be missing. For a special finishing touch, there may also be some color inside or on the outside of the box. A little story can be communicated via texts inside the box or with the help of a label and note card.

  1. How does your product need to be protected and how heavy is it?

Options are often excluded in this way. For very heavy or glass products, stable materials and constructions must be chosen and shipping tests must be carried out. A corrugated cardboard box is also recommended here. If the products are not sent directly, other versions are also possible, e.g. the so-called rigid box, which is, for instance, known from the mobile phone packages from  Apple. It is also stable and suitable for heavy products. However, since its production is very complex, it is not the cheapest option and is therefore more suitable for high-priced products or gift sets.

  1. What are the desired quantities and the timing?

We can offer a certain selection of standard folding boxes from as little as 50 pieces in a relatively short production time of approx. 15-20 working days. If you have more time and higher quantities, corrugated cardboard and rigid boxes are also an option.

Budget

It is true that the more parts, the more finishing and the higher the quality of the paper, the more expensive the box. Furthermore, the quantities are extremely decisive for better unit prices, since the set-up costs for production or the tooling or printing plate costs are always the same — regardless of whether you order 50 or 50,000 pieces.

The different boxes at a glance:
Folding boxes (various construction variants possible)

This packaging is produced flat and is particularly suitable for products that are not too heavy. The boxes can be wonderfully refined and can also be implemented in smaller quantities.

Maybe Palina Presenter is interesting for you? Check it out.

Rigid boxes

Solid cardboard blanks are covered with printed paper. The difference to a folding box is that you don’t see any folded walls, flaps or open edges. This variant is expensive, especially for small quantities and cannot be delivered flat.

Shipping boxes

Suitable for direct mail or very heavy products. Like the folding box, it is also delivered flat and can also be produced in smaller runs using digital printing.

Sustainable insert variants are e.g.: paper / cardboard insert, moulded paper or mycelium.

The latter looks like this: Molly Mycelium

Paper bag, bag pack or a paper can

Maybe it doesn’t have to be a box at all? Fashion accessories and textiles also fit well in a paper tube or a high-quality paper bag with a printed image and label. It is a stylish goodie for an event or an eye-catcher in the shop.

On the subject… you might like these suprtrue products:

Bernie Bag Pack

Cara Capsule

Box it better!

Jede Brand möchte eine Box, doch welche? Das wissen sie meist selbst nicht so genau. Blogger Box, Seeding Box, Shipping Box, e-Commerce Box, Gift Box, Set Box, Folding Box, … Wir klären auf, welche Unterschiede es gibt, und worauf bei der Auswahl zu achten ist.

Wer mit seinem Packmittel Eindruck schinden möchte, achtet nicht nur auf den Look, sondern setzt auch auf das Erlebnis, das ein Paket beim Auspacken beschert. „Unboxing“ kann eine wahre Freude sein, ein von Spannung begleitetes Gefühl, voller Erwartung und voller Neugier, oder aber es kann für eine große Enttäuschung sorgen und somit maßgeblich zum Image einer Marke beitragen.

Es lohnt sich etwas Zeit und Invest in die Hand zu nehmen, um eine funktionale und attraktive Lösung zu finden oder idealerweise konstruieren zu lassen. Man möchte verhindern, dass die Box instabil und das Produkt dadurch beschädigt ist, dass das Material nicht dem Wert des Inhalts entspricht und dass die die Produkte lieblos in der Box herumrutschen. Ebenso ist der Blick fürs Detail und den Feinschliff viel wert.

WAS PASST ZU EURER MARKE UND EUREM PRODUKT?

Mit den richtigen Fragen zum Erfolg, so macht Ihr Eure Box zum Hero:

  1. Soll das Packaging (z.B. als e-Commerce Box) direkt versendet werden?

Falls ja, empfehlen wir eine Wellpapp-Shipping-Box. Diese kann man innen und außen bedrucken und bei Bedarf auch ein Insert einlegen, um die Produkte zu fixieren. So spart Ihr Euch eine zusätzliche Versandverpackung.

Möchte man flexibel bleiben und sind die Produkte nicht all zu empfindlich, so empfiehlt sich ein Füllmaterial. Besondere schick sind mit dem eigenen Logo versehene Seidenpapierstreifen oder unbedruckte Kartonschnipsel in verschiedenen Formen. Verschlusslabel und Note Card dürfen nicht fehlen. Für den besonderen Feinschliff darf es auch etwas Farbe im Kartoninneren oder auf der Außenseite sein. Eine kleine Geschichte kann über Texte im Inneren der Box oder mit Hilfe einer Note Card kommuniziert werden.

  1. Wie muss Euer Produkt geschützt werden und wie schwer ist es?

Oft schließen sich so schon Optionen aus. Bei sehr schweren oder Glas-Produkten müssen stabile Materialien und Konstruktionen gewählt und Versandtests durchgeführt werden. Auch hier empfiehlt sich eine Wellpappschachtel. Werden die Produkte nicht direkt verschickt, kommen auch andere Versionen in Frage, z.B. die sogenannte Rigid Box, die man beispielsweise von den Mobile Phone Verpackungen von Apple kennt. Sie ist ebenfalls stabil und für schwere Produkte geeignet. Da jedoch ihre Herstellung sehr aufwendig ist, ist sie nicht die günstigste Variante und daher eher für hochpreisige Produkte oder Geschenk-Sets geeignet.

  1. Wie sind die gewünschten Stückzahlen und das Timing?

    Eine gewisse Auswahl an Standard Faltschachteln können wir z.T. schon ab 50 Stck. in relativ kurzer Produktionszeit von ca. 15-20 Werktagen anbieten.

Sollte man mehr Zeit und höhere Stückzahlen haben, so kommen auch Wellpapp- und Rigid Boxen in Frage.

  1. Budget

Es gilt, je mehr Teile, je mehr Veredelung und je hochwertiger das Papier, desto teurer die Box. Des Weiteren sind die Stückzahlen extrem ausschlaggebend für bessere Stückpreise, da die Rüstkosten für die Produktion oder die Werkzeug- oder Druckplattenkosten immer dieselben sind — egal ob man 50 oder 50.000 Stck. produziert.

Die verschiedenen Boxen im Überblick:

Folding Boxes (verschiedene Konstruktionsvarianten möglich)

Diese Verpackung wird flach produziert und ist besonders für nicht allzu schwere Produkte geeignet. Die Schachteln können wunderbar veredelt werden und sind auch in kleineren Stückzahlen umsetzbar.  

Vielleicht ist Palina Presenter interessant für Euch?

Rigid Boxes

Feste Kartonzuschnitte werden mit einem bedruckten Papier bezogen. Der Unterschied zur Folding Box ist, dass man keine eingefalteten Wände, Laschen oder offene Kanten sieht. Diese Variante ist kostenintensiv, vor allem bei kleinen Stückzahlen und nicht flach anzuliefern.

Shipping Boxes

Für den Direktversand oder sehr schwere Produkte geeignet. Wird, wie die Faltschachtel, ebenfalls flach angeliefert und kann im Digitaldruck auch in kleineren Auflagen produziert werden. 

Nachhaltige Insert Varianten sind z.B.: Papier / Kartonage Insert, Moulded Paper oder Mycelium.

Letzteres sieht z.B. so aus: Molly Mycelium

Paper Bag, Bag Pack oder Papierwickeldose

Vielleicht muss es gar keine Box sein? Fashion Accessoires und Textilien passen auch gut in eine Papierwickelhülse oder ein hochwertiges Paper Bag mit Druckbild und Label. Ist ein schickes Goodie für ein Event oder ein Blickfang im Laden.

Bei dem Thema… diese suprtrue Produkte könnten Euch vielleicht gefallen:

Bernie Bag Pack 

Cara Capsule